Cream Paper or White Paper?

I got several books I ordered today (see Twitter for more on that fun expedition of problematic deliveries), two of which were made using Createspace. As I started reading one, something came to my attention–the color of the paper. One of them is white, which, as you may suspect, looks like white computer paper. The other is cream, which looks like white computer paper that had coffee spilled on it. I then started wondering which color I should use for my book. For comparison, I looked at one of the books I got made by a professional mass-market tradeback whatever-you-call-it, you know, with the not-being-self-published business.

Gaddfern it, it’s right in the middle! No matter how long I stare at it, the professional trade dealy paper looks right between the white and the cream! Not exactly, I suppose, but it looks light a light gray–lighter than the cream, but darker than the white. I think in the end the cream might be closer, but I still don’t know. I’ve both seen people say that the white paper is a giveaway of being self-published and say that’s not the case at all (having used white paper and no one remark on it looking self-published). I think the white paper looks fine, but the fact is I have never paid attention to the color of the paper.

I’ve read that cream paper is thicker (although I think the mask-marker papyrusback is closer to the thickness of the white, and it’s just that the paper feels rougher than the others), and though quite a few people have said white is used more for non-fiction and cream for fiction, I’ve seen people say they’ve used white just fine for fiction. I’ve also read that cream has varied quite a bit over the years, and that Createspace’s cream is a bit too yellow–which, given my simile of coffee being spilled on it… yeah. Anyone want to throw in their two cents?

Anyway, I think I’ll grab a coin and flip it to decide.

Leave a comment

Make like a tree and leave... a reply!

