150 Encyclopedia Entries; Also, What’s Going on with Me

I’ve talked quite a bit on Obscure Authors Alliance about writing an encyclopedia for a novel’s universe.

My encyclopedia has now reached 150 entries for species, characters, organiztaions, and locations. From the uniquely-shelled arkents to the pragmatic wrallots; from the unfortunately-named Aĉçöís̈ɲđị0 to the giant, yet not massive, Zykardo; 150 entries is a lot. There’s almost 232 words per average here: 34,782 total. And I tend to just work on this during my free time.

Anyway, aside from that, I’ve been working on the personal summary for my 3rd novel (I know, hardly anything said on my 2nd and I’m mentioning my 3rd! But it really is 2 or 3 months before I should have started on it–I just got excited by a friend releasing his novel, so now every few days I work a bit on the summary). I’m also considering starting on some revision for a short story I finished writing a month or two ago.

I know, I know. “What about the 2nd novel??” you ask. Well, frankly, I don’t know who this “you” is. Or are. I’m not sure, I went from using you as a pronoun to a regular noun so it went from 2nd person to 3rd person. Regardless, I’m on the verge of starting the big revision project for that, and yet I pause–I really want to actually get a paying job so I have some money before I get back to heavy writing work. Mostly because I don’t want to break apart writing work with the stress from actually looking for a job.

I currently have about $50 to my name and in about a month I have twice that due in student loans. I don’t think noveling will pay that off just yet. Remind me why taking out a grillion dollars of student loan money was worth a college degree?? Look, all I’m saying is, maybe I should have waited for Obama’s America to reach the colleges and make all colleging free forever.

Anyway, that’s what’s up with me. My plan is to start revising the next novel next month–I want at least 3 months to work on that before NaNoWriMo comes up.

Also, I may or may not start trying to have a new blog post every few days on whatever the hex I can come up with to say, and once a day on Twitter. Will I make this goal? ABSOLUTELY NOT! But I can try!

Leave a comment

Make like a tree and leave... a reply!

